Bonnie McCulloch

My Best Boy

bubba2013

My best boy turned 11 a week ago today. On one hand I cannot believe he has been in our lives for 11 years but on the other I cannot remember my life without him.  I forget what it felt like to get up and go to work everyday and to only have to think of myself or at most what I was going to make for dinner.

Life was simple before my Best Boy entered the world, although I didn’t think it was.  I thought my job was tough and stressful.  It was-teaching middle school special needs students was never easy but I loved it.  Then….my Best Boy arrived.  His birth was so difficult.  He was early and weighed 9 pounds 13 ounces. I will spare you the details-lets just say it was a very traumatic delivery.

But then he was HERE.  Where was my manual? Although “What To Expect The First Year” was helpful, there was no chapter on how to take care of a child with medical issues-that I managed with great doctors, a loving family and wonderful friends.

Fast forward 11 years.  My Best Boy is going to middle school next year. I CANNOT believe it.  I am sad, excited, nervous and worried about this whole middle school thing (remember I taught middle school for 6 years).  I unfortunately know by living it myself and also teaching that grade level how crazy it can be.

Here is what I have come up with after a week of pondering how my Best Boy could possibly be 11 years old.

~He is a good sweet boy.

~He has brought so much joy to my family.

~He will make wrong decisions and we (George and I) will be help him understand and work through his choices.

~We live in a wonderful town with a great school system and he is academically ready for middle school.

~There is nothing I can do to stop time or slow it down-he is growing up whether I choose to accept it or not.

~I am blessed and grateful that he is my Best Boy-he is the child I was meant to have.

~I will try to look at him growing up as a positive and enjoy it-not everyone has that same gift.

~He is my baby and always will be whether he is 1, 11 or 77.

They say it takes a village and I am deeply grateful that I am part of one.

My wish for all is to have peace in our  hearts, peace in our minds, and may there be peace in the world-especially for my Best Boy.

Bonnie

Tag Cloud

