Bonnie McCulloch

Finding Peace in Parenting?

My best boy will be 11 in 2 weeks and I am struggling.  Not with him but with the world around him.  I am searching for the balance between keeping him the sweet and gentle boy that he is but also making him aware of the crazy world around him.  I am baffled at how many parents allow their 10/11 years olds to play mature video games.  I do not want to judge parents who do let their kids play these games-parents have to make their own decision for their children. As for my son it is a big fat “NO”.

Anyone who knows me, knows me as a bit overprotective.  Know what? I am 100% ok with that.  I make decisions based on who my son is and how he handles things in his life.  My son has always been physically tough but emotionally sweet and sensitive.  We have had to help him understand things that happen in life that we have no explanation for.  As a parent we are supposed to have the answers.  So when he asks me why did one of his best friends brother have to die of cancer-I had to be honest and say “I don’t know”.  As a parent this is a tough but an honest answer-my boy was unsettled by my response but it was all I had to give.

So when it comes to exposing my child to violence and death in a game form, it is easy for me to say “No”.  At this point I don’t even allow him to play TEEN games.  Last time I checked 11 is not a teenager.  Aren’t there enough horrible things in the world already-does he need to play out violence in a game?  I understand that I may not be realistic in my views but I am a very peaceful person and I don’t like the games to begin with.

As for now I am just going to do the best I can-isn’t that all we can do?  I would love to put my best boy in a bubble and protect him from the world but I know I can’t-right? Seriously, again I don’t want to judge other parents.  I just wanted to share my struggle in case someone else out there is struggling too.

Parenting is so hard and I am sure I have and will make many more mistakes.  But the mistakes that I make come from a place of love and not from a place of control.  Having my son is the best thing I have ever done in my life-who wouldn’t want the best for such a precious gift.

Be Well, Be Happy,

Bonnie

Tag Cloud

