Bonnie McCulloch

Yoga Instuctor-Who Me?

If someone had told me 10 years ago that I would be a yoga instructor in the future I would have thought they were crazy.  I fell in love with yoga when I was 19 but I never thought about it as a career. I was very happy with being a stay at home Mom after teacher middle school Special Education for 6 years.  As my son got a little older I happily returned to my regular yoga practice-a much needed yoga practice.

When I started practicing regularly again, I was amazed at how much I loved yoga-I fell in love all over again.  After a very traumatic delivery with my son, my body felt so foreign to me. With yoga, I reconnected with my body and learned how to “let go” of a lot of the anger I was holding on to due to his delivery.

Then in 2005 I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes on Halloween-no joke.  Again through yoga and meditation I learned (and I am still learning) how my body works.  I found a wonderful sense of peace and calm when I was practicing yoga.  When I would sit on my mat at the beginning of class I felt this weird sense of contentment-I was where I needed to be.

Becoming a yoga instructor for me was always a “dream” not something I ever imagined would happen.  One day I asked my yoga instructor where she trained just to get some information.  I knew that Kripalu Yoga Center in the Berkshires had a month-long teacher training program but that was not an option for me. I decided to look into some different certification programs-just for fun.

My husband George was truly the one who made the suggestion to go for the teacher training.  I was apprehensive at first because I was afraid that once the training was over, what if I didn’t want to teach yoga? He told me “then you don’t teach and just continue to practice like you always have”.  With his support and many other family members and friends, I started on my yoga journey.  I am amazed and so grateful for where it has brought me.

In my training we studied many different styles of yoga.  I realized that I wanted to teach yoga to anyone who wanted to take it. My goal has always been to share yoga with eveyone-no matter what is going on with their body or mind.  Yoga is a wonderful gift that I wanted to share with everyone and anyone.

I have always been intrigued by the question-when do you feel that you are your “best self” and what does that really mean? The answer is different for everyone but I think the question is about finding what makes you feel happy, peaceful and content.  For some people is might be running but for someone else it could be gardening. Whatever it is my advice is to search for it-“Find Your Peace”! It may take some time but it is most certainly worth the effort.

I am so grateful that I am able to do what I love and that I found that “thing” that soothes my soul and makes me feel my best.  Yoga has changed my life and my wish is that everyone can start a journey of discovery to find their “best self“.

Have a wonderful week.

Be Happy. Be Well.

Bonnie

*check out my updated class schedule for Fall 2012

Tag Cloud

